What is pin code and why we use it.

PIN code stands for ‘Postal Index Number’ code. The pin code system was introduced by y Shriram Bhikaji Velankar, an additional secretary in the Union Ministry of Communications on 15th August 1972

It is a 6 digit number used by India post to differentiate the post offices.

The main purpose that this system was introduced is to remove the complexities from manual sorting and mail delivery by getting rid of confusion over incorrect addresses, similar place names, and different languages used by the public.

Currently, India has 6 digit postcode and soon it will be converted in 8 digits.

Find out how’s the Pin code of a specific region chosen?

Despite the fact that the letter-composing has become a thing of the past, our online shopping propensities keep the Pin code from getting outdated.

Here is the procedure:

The pin code is 6 digit long number with each digit stands for a particular meaning.

First Digit of PIN Code:

The first digit of the pin mirrors the region. In India, there are 9 pin regions, in which 8 of them denoting geographical regions, and 9th One is exclusively used for Army postal services.

1st digit of the PIN Assigned Postal Zone
1 Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Chandigarh
2 Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6 Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 Bihar, Jharkhand
9 Army Post Office (APO), Field Post Office (FPO)

Second Digit of PIN Code:

The second digit in the PIN code indicates the sub-region.

Combination of the first two digits:

The combination of the first two digits points out a particular circle. Below is the list.

11 – Delhi

12 and 13 – Haryana

14 to 16 – Punjab

17 – Himachal Pradesh

18 to 19 – Jammu & Kashmir

20 to 28 – Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal

30 to 34 – Rajasthan

36 to 39 – Gujarat

40 to 44 – Maharashtra

45 to 49 – Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh

50 to 53 – Andhra Pradesh

56 to 59 – Karnataka

60 to 64 – Tamil Nadu

67 to 69 – Kerala

70 to 74 – West Bengal

75 to 77 – Orissa

78 – Assam

79 – North Eastern

80 to 85 – Bihar and Jharkand

90 to 99 – Army Postal Service (APS)

Third Digit of PIN Code:

The third digit of a PIN joined with the initial two digits, speaks to a specific geographical region (except in the case of the functional zone for the Army) called a sorting district that is headquartered at the primary post office of the largest city in the region and is known as the sorting office. A state may have at least one or more sorting districts depending on the volume of mail handled.

Fourth Digit of PIN Code:

The fourth digit represents the route on which a delivery office is located in the sorting district.

Fifth and Sixth Digits of PIN Code:

The last two digits represent the delivery office within the sorting district starting from 01 which would be the General Post Office (GPO) or head office (HO). The numbering of the delivery office is done chronologically with higher numbers assigned to newer delivery offices. On the off chance that the volume of mail handled at a delivery office is excessively enormous, a new delivery office is created and the next available PIN is assigned. Thus, two delivery offices situated close to one another will only have the first four digits in common.IN


Leave a Comment